Which Warhammer 40,000 game should I play first?

EfficientNinja

Hi everyone!

I'm quite new to the Warhammer 40k franchise. I would like to know which of the ones available on Steam I should play first. I see there's a lot of games in this franchise that are listed and I might get them on Steam Sale.

Which Warhammer 40,000 game should I play first?

Thanks!

If you are into strategy games, you should play Dawn of War 1/2 and their expansions.
If you like third person shooters, you might try Space Marine. Other than those, I'm not aware of any good 40K games. There was a couple of games released in the 90s that are apparently good (or were good at the time), but that is ancient now so I haven't played them myself.

I would go with Dawn of War as well just because of the game play but it kind of depends on what you are looking for. Eternal Crusade was pretty entertaining but I am not sure I would recommend that one.

Thanks for the recommendations! I hope all of those goes on sale during any upcoming steam sales. :D

I think I might go for Space Marine since I've played Mass Effect games.

You're welcome !
I'll have to warn you though that Space Marine is nothing like Mass Effect. It's a pure action game.

Is it like your typical action-shooting games? Games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, Tom Clancy, etc. ? Thanks again!
Warhammer is not an FPS(first person shooter) fanchise at all. It is a turn-based strategy game which is very tactical in nature. I'm not a hardcore fan but it is an intriguing franchise to play though. The lore behind the entire series is amazing and really immerses you in the Warhammer universe.

Is it like your typical action-shooting games? Games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, Tom Clancy, etc. ? Thanks again!
Sorry for the late reply, I just saw this. Space Marine is a third person shooter with a decent melee combat system. As I said the game is just pure action, so it is sort of similar to the games you mentioned.